The Club
The Club


Akarana's beginnings were in the 1920's when a group of enthusiasts founded the club on the Winstone Farm in Mt Roskill. The course has remained on the same site since its incorporation in 1927.

Holes 7, 8, and 11 were redesigned in 2003 by the course architect Chris Pitman.

As part of the continual ongoing improvements since 2012, more that 3.5kms of new drainage has been laid, creating all year round playability on the fairways - a superb achievement given the predominant clay soils of Auckland. All thirty two bunkers now have new drainage, and high quality sand, and the all weather path network continues to be expanded.

Akarana now has two distinct nines. The shorter inner loop with a par of 34 has one of the great holes in Auckland golf, the par three 8th which measures 176 metres from the blue tee to a narrow green with bunkers on the left and water on the right.

The longer outer nine, which has out of bounds on the left of six holes, has the two longer par fives, two demanding par fours in the 13th and 15th, the testing par three 16th and an exciting short par 4 to finish which produces many birdies.

The full layout measures around 5800 metres from the back tees but the course rating is over par at 70.6 and the slope is 124.

The new layout and the condition of the course drew high praise from many visitors during 2004 including Bob Glading, the former New Zealand Open and PGA champion who was a guest of the club for the Dewar Cup in December. The club was delighted that Bob took the time to write the club after his day at Akarana and was very praiseworthy of the new look layout.

Akarana has featured some of the great names in Auckland golf since its inception in 1927. One of the most famous was Jim Bissett, after whom the premier interclub competition trophy is named.

The most prolific club champion has been Vic Pirihi, whose 12 victories started in the 1970s and were very nearly added to as recently as 2001 when he lost the final. The Pirihi name remains one of Akarana's most famous. Vic is still a regular, still competitive and has been close to shooting his age in recent weeks. His son Mark has also been a club champion, Auckland's Champion of Champions and a provincial representative, while another son Carl is a member too.

Akarana now has the largest 'Business Women's' membership in Auckland, who together with busy Weekday and Nine Hole sections have all contributed to competitive success in the Auckland district. Noteable women who have represented Auckland in golf include; Polly King (12 times club champion), Rae Riggir, Alison Odlin, Anne Familton, and Marilyn Storey. Akarana is well represented in Auckland competitions - A & B Pennants, Business Women's Pennants, Betty Faesen, and Nine Hole. One of our premier Auckland tournaments is the Pimms Cup played over 36 holes. 

Among those to have achieved national honours are P.G.F (Pax) Smith who was a national amateur champion in the 1930s and Bruce Rafferty, a four time club champion and one time professional, who was in the New Zealand amateur team in 1967.

In 2004 Akarana changed its constitution to a structure whereby a board of directors set the policy for the club's direction and that policy is enacted by the staff led by the General Manager.

Akarana is one of the closest quality golf courses to the Auckland CBD and is open 7 days a week - just 15 minutes from Queen St.

Here are some significant dates in this club's long and proud history;

  • 1927 First AGM. Three year lease of land from G. Winstone
  • 1936 Provision made for Life members. MrC.M.Cox made first honorary life member
  • 1942 Ladies granted weekend playing rights during the war. Course rental reduced
  • 1950 The club buys the golf course and clubhouse.
  • 1957 Clubhouse extensions completed
  • 1964 More extensions
  • 1968 Anniversary Tournament replaces The Akarana Winter championship
  • 1969 Extensive course earthworks
  • 1971 Club hosts the NZ Ladies Open
  • 1977 Golden Jubilee 1992 Old Clubhouse must be replaced
  • 1994 New Clubhouse opened
  • 2003 Significant course changes (Motorway)
  • 2008 Senior Men's Pennant team win Bissett Shield
  • 2008 Senior Men win NZ Interclub title in Ashburton
  • 2014 Akarana joins the Jennian Homes Charles Tour, hosting the 'Barfoot & Thompson Open'
  • 2017 90th Year Celebrations